diy tissue paper art

It’s crafting time! I always want to do more crafting, and somehow other things (time, inspiration, materials cost) always seem to get in the way. But I’ve been wanting to start filling in some blank spaces on my walls with some large scale art, and large scale art ain’t cheap. I knew I that the only way to get some big decorations fast was to DIY it.

After searching around for cheap (I mean…inexpensive) DIY art projects, I settled on this beautiful tissue paper flower backdrop. All you need is tissue paper, double-sided tape, some sort of base to attach it too, scissors, and patience.

2016-02-13 17.42.57

I did most of my crafting during procedural marathons on the weekends. Nothing livens up crumpling up hundreds of pieces of tissue paper quite like sex crimes (ION airs Law & Order: SVU all day on Saturdays!). Maybe it was all the staring at the TV that did it, but I eventually decided that above the TV would be the perfect spot for this piece. It’s always looked a little empty up there, since I have a very petite TV, but I didn’t want to hang up an actual piece of art that would compete visually with whatever was on the screen. This lovely, textural piece was the perfect compromise.

2016-02-28 14.26.08

Ain’t she a beaut? I’m really happy with how this came out. It required literally zero skill apart from not accidentally handling the tissue paper too roughly (I did have a few ripped casualties…). I feel that a treatment like this would be super fun on a base that’s a fun shape (a heart?) or even letters. It is a little bit tedious, but it was nicely mindless. You definitely don’t have to pay close attention to it, so it’s perfect for zoning out while you watch some TV. I mounted this with some Command Velcro strips, which is my preferred method of hanging for pretty much everything. So far it’s holding up pretty securely.

I’m excited to start doing some more projects and making more changes…it’s coming up on a year since I moved in, and there’s still a lot I’d like to do to make the place my own.

3 thoughts on “diy tissue paper art

Leave a Reply

