2015: a year in review

Here we are again at the end of another year!

2015collage

2015 was interesting. My new year’s resolution last year was “have more adventures,” and I think I definitely succeeded in that. During the course of the year, I traveled to two places I had never been before (Arizona and Ohio!), flew by myself for the first time, did a grown-up rock n’ roll bootcamp and played on stage (twice!), moved into my first solo adult apartment, changed my hair color for the first time since 2009, published a book (!!!), and appeared on live TV and radio and did a reading and signing because of said book. I also said goodbye to a very much beloved family pet, and I thought a lot about what, exactly, I want out of life (a belated quarter life crisis?). I still don’t know the answer, and maybe that’s part of why 2015 feels a little…unfinished to me. I accomplished a lot, but there’s still more I wish I could have done. Oh well…there’s always next year, right?

Going into 2016 I want to continue having adventures and saying yes, but my “official” resolution this year is this: live your best life today. It’s so tempting to want to be “ready” for something before you embark on it, whether it’s a creative project, a relationship, a personal goal…but there’s no such thing as ready. There’s never going to be a perfect moment. Start living your best life today, and hopefully you’ll never have to look back and regret wasted time.

Cheers – here’s to 2016!

Leave a Reply

