milwaukee’s secret garden

Did you know there’s a magical garden right downtown?

plazahotel

I’ve been completely taken with the new(ish)ly reopened patio at the Cafe at the Plaza Hotel since my first time lunching on it. It seriously is like a darling little secret garden, with the vine-covered walls and twinkling lights overhead. I’ll admit it called to mind the Madeline books that I loved growing up. In an old house in Paris that was covered with vines… The hotel has such lovely art deco flair (and one of the nicest bathrooms I’ve ever been in), it feels a little bit like stepping back in time. Add in some delicious food (I recommend the salmon BLT or the Jucy Lucy sliders…I know they’re most famous for breakfast, but what can I say? I’m a carnivore) and cocktails, and it’s a great place to wile away a few hours before the weather turns on us for the year. The cafe will still be open, of course, but you don’t want to miss the chance to sit on this sun-dappled patio. It’s quickly become a place I’m very fond of. There’s nothing quite like a little secret escape from the bustle of the city.

Do you have a favorite “secret” place in the city?

Leave a Reply

