my first author event

boswellreading

Well…that happened!

I’m still a little bit in shock; I’ve been a fan of Boswell Book Company for a long time, and after every visit I would admire the wall of flyers for upcoming events. When I write a book, I would tell myself, I’m going to do a reading at Boswell. I wrote a book. And I had my reading at Boswell.

Though I’d done some press, this was my first live in-person event for the book. I did Forensics and theater growing up, so I’m fairly comfortable speaking in front of a crowd, but my nerves were definitely out in full force! There’s a big difference between reading someone else’s work aloud and just going all in with your thoughts. And thirty minutes, I soon discovered in my prep, is a lot of time to fill with solely the sound of your own voice. Most authors doing a reading are able to pick a nice chapter or selection from their work, but my book is made up of 150-word chunks, which made it a little bit challenging to figure out how I wanted to present it. I didn’t want things to get stale, but I also needed to try to get the talk to a decent length.

In the end, I talked a little about how the book came about and the nature of bucket lists (as you do), then read a few selections from the book and talked about why I chose to include them. There were around forty people in attendance, and majority of them were not my friends/family, which was super exciting! It was great to be in the company of a bunch of other people who loved Milwaukee, and I got to answer some really thoughtful questions (hopefully I did a decent job of it!). Daniel from Boswell was so great about getting everything set up and making sure the event went off without a hitch; I would definitely highly recommend having your event there!

If I saw you there, thank you so much for coming! And if you didn’t make it out, don’t worry! I signed the rest of the stock at Boswell, so you can still stop by and pick up an autographed copy if you want to support a local bookstore AND a local author all at once. Wowza! But in all seriousness, I’m still constantly shocked and gratified by the positive feedback I’ve gotten thus far for this book. I really appreciate it, and I can’t wait to see what the future still holds!

Leave a Reply

