eight years later…

export-933256134

I’ve been having a lot of feelings lately about where I am in my life and everything I still want to accomplish. I’ll admit that I’ve succumbed to the jealousy that comes from comparing yourself to others, but today’s Timehop has made me think about how far I’ve come. Eight years ago was my very first day of college. I was thrilled but terrified and my hair was VERY curly (yes, all natural). I’d never been on my own before, had no idea what i was going to do with my life, and apparently thought this Wizard of Oz shirt was the ideal first impression.

Today, I still have so many of the friends I made at school and rely every day on the skills I learned there. I have a job that I love that I know will be the start of a career in a field I never imagined I’d enter. More and more every day, I feel like I’m presenting the self that I want to to the world. I’m a self-sufficient adult, and I’m proud of everything I’ve accomplished in the past 8 years. I never could have foreseen where I’d be from where i was standing then, and I’m sure in another eight years I’ll look back and think the same thing. No matter what, we keep moving forward.

Leave a Reply

