lunch rush: la masa

Today I got some help from a lovely (and strong!) coworker to pick up a piece of furniture; we stepped out at lunch to unload her car and made a stop at La Masa Empanada Bar before we went back to work. I don’t think I’ve actually ever had an empanada before, so I was intrigued and eager to try this new spot!

Yum! Delicious and adorable empanadas at La Masa. 😋 #Milwaukee #food #eatmke #myfab5 #mkefood #foodie

A post shared by Jennifer Posh (@jenniferposh) on

  • Ambiance: Casual cool. This is in the former World of Beer on Brady Street, and I wondered if it would still feel like WOB, but they added some Mexican tile details to the counter and some lovely rustic wooden tables.
  • Food: Delicious! We ordered four empanadas to share (Grilled Chicken, Italian Sausage, WI Beer Brat and Jamon y Queso). They were all tasty, but my favorites were the brat and the ham and cheese. I liked being able to order whatever empanadas I liked a la carte – each one is $3, so it’s easy to try as many or as few as you want.
  • Service: Excellent! Our server was very friendly and attentive, and the rest of the staff was super nice as well.
  • Potential for Return: I probably won’t be back for lunch since Brady Street is a bit outside my usual lunchtime range, but I’d definitely like to come back for happy hour or dinner sometime. I didn’t have the time to try the banana & nutella dessert empanada on this visit which is a CRIME.
Leave a Reply

