easy canvas art diy

Hey friends! I hope you had a great Fourth of July weekend! I wanted to do some “home” stuff over the long weekend, and I did a few projects (switched out my duvet covers, reorganized some clothes), but the most important of which was one four years in the making.

In my senior year of college, I took a portrait painting class on a whim. It sounded like fun and, in fact, it was! However, though it didn’t have any prerequisites, it really wasn’t intended for someone like myself with zero painting experience. I didn’t really end up with any work I was proud of, but I knew that canvases could be repurposed in a wide variety of ways for home decor, so I hung onto them…and hung on…and on…and on…

The two largest paintings I did finally were thrown out in my last move, but I still had two self-portraits that I refused to get rid of. They’ve been in my trunk since March, but last weekend I finally moved them inside and committed to redoing one over the weekend. So that’s what I did!

paint collageI was inspired by this tutorial from A Beautiful Mess for a simple, yet impactful art redo. Take a piece of art that you don’t love, place vinyl letters on it, and go nuts! I used a foam brush to sponge the paint on around the letters to try to minimize leakage, and then used a brush on the larger segments of canvas. My final piece isn’t quite as fun as the inspiration piece with all the colors peeking because the original painting was done in grayscale, but I’m still pleased with it!

Now I just have to decide what to do with the other painting…

Leave a Reply

