wanderlust

My feet have been itching lately (metaphorically, of course). Working in the tourism industry means you’re constantly immersed in the idea of travel. You spend your days encouraging other people to take vacations and researching what other destinations are up to, so it’s no surprise that you start thinking about places you might go.

I’ve honestly never been much of a traveler. If the scale goes from shut-in to vagabond, I fall pretty squarely in the “homebody” section. I like going out and doing the things, but I also like coming home to my own warm bed afterward. But lately I’ve been feeling the urge to get out and go. I took my first proper vacation to Florida last year, and it kind of reminded me that I can go anywhere I want. I mean, obviously time and money are factors…but I’m physically capable of getting in a car or on a plane and going wherever I choose.

2015-01-01 11.51.53

My lovely roommate got me Places to Go, People to See, the Kate Spade coffee table book from 2014, for Christmas. I’ve been trying to savor it, enjoying only a few pages at a time. It’s a great source of inspiration and makes me want to go somewhere and do it in style. Maybe glamorous travel went the way of suits and cocktail dresses on airplanes, but I don’t think it has to be that way.

There are a few places I’m tossing around in my mind as destinations (Portland, Austin, and New Orleans are all on the shortlist), and I’m looking forward to locking down some more serious plans in the near future. Pretty much every news source reports that American workers vastly underuse their vacation time…I don’t want to be part of that statistic this year!

One thought on “wanderlust

Leave a Reply

