dining out: odd duck

I’ve lived within easy walking distance of Odd Duck for two and a half years now, it was one of the very first Milwaukee restaurants recommended to me, and yet it still took me until this weekend to finally visit Odd Duck. Right now, I don’t know how to feel…thrilled at how awesome the dinner was or furious with myself for waiting so long.

We were out with some friends, so I was a good citizen and kept my phone in my bag and didn’t snap any pictures. I wish I had, because pretty much every dish was as beautiful as it was delicious. The four of us ordered a cheese plate, 6 plates to share and 3 desserts (we just couldn’t decide!), which seemed about right. I was still a bit hungry, but I hadn’t had lunch and the rest of the group was happily satiated. The pricing is in line with what I would expect for this type of restaurant, and I definitely felt like we got more than our money’s worth!

It’s so hard to choose my favorites, since everything was so good. I might have to give the prize to the braised beef short ribs sauerbraten, which was my choice, but the rabbit & lentil ragout with a savory churro (savory churro!) also made a big impression. As did the pork belly donburi, and the andouille sausage with hush puppies and…let’s just say it was all fabulous.

The restaurant itself is quite small, but it doesn’t feel cramped, just intimate. Service was very good. I really do enjoy this small plates trend that’s so hip right now; it’s a lot of fun to try a little bit of everything, even though you definitely sometimes find yourself wishing for another taste of your favorite.

If you love delicious, creative food (once again – savory churro!), definitely check out Odd Duck. I’ll be back, and it certainly won’t take me a two more years to do it!

2 thoughts on “dining out: odd duck

Leave a Reply

