halloween diy: pennant banner

2014-10-04 18.30.02

Last time I talked about how excited I am for Halloween. Well, the calendar flipped over to October, so I decided it was the appropriate time to start getting spooky!

2014-10-04 18.30.57

This DIY pennant banner is one of my favorite projects I’ve done so far. It’s very low cost and effort for what I think is a really dramatic and fun result. There’s a reason that these banners are a favorite of the blogosphere, and the apartment definitely feels more ready for Halloween with a banner along each bank of windows!

To create this craft, I just used a book of Halloween scrapbook paper I picked up last year (I got it for 40% off, and it has served me well!), some black ribbon (also from last year), scissors and a hole punch. It would have been a lot easier/neater if I had a paper cutter, but oh well! I used what I had, and honestly once they’re up, no one can tell if some of my cuts are a little wobbly. Cut out a nice stack of triangular pennants, use a hole punch to make a hole on each side, then string ’em up! You are instantly ready for a spooky celebration!

I ran out of ribbon, but I have some extra pennants left, so I think once I restock I’ll make a little mini banner for my cubicle so I can be spooky ALL DAY.

I did a few other DIY projects yesterday (and might still take on some more!), so I’ll be back with some more easy Halloween decor crafts as the month goes on. Boo!

3 thoughts on “halloween diy: pennant banner

Leave a Reply

