dining out: tochi

New experiences are fun! My roommate, who studied abroad in Japan, was super excited when I told her about TOCHI, the new ramen restaurant in Milwaukee. I’d made many ramen packets in my semi-illicit electric kettle back in college days, but I’d never had “real” ramen so we were both excited to check it out.

2014-03-23 13.06.14

The verdict? Yum! I tried the shoyu ramen since I love pretty much anything involving pork. It had all the bone-deep salty satisfaction of ramen packets while being comprised of actual food. I also tried their Sunday special “Tochi-mosa,” a mimosa flavored with hibiscus, which was new and interesting in addition to being totally delectable. Honestly, the menu here is very simple and straightforward, and it seems tough to go wrong. Everyone I was with enjoyed their meal, and it even got the seal of approval from the only one of us to have actually eaten ramen in Japan! The atmosphere is a great mix of clean & classic with pops of brightness and graphic fun; I especially enjoyed the display of Godzilla figurines. I’d definitely go back to enjoy another bowl – if you go, note that you do have to go into the garden shop and then down the stairs to get to the restaurant…we definitely stood outside looking from the sign to the gardening supplies inside and back again for a little while! I don’t get up to Shorewood very often, and it was fun to see all the little spots I could explore on my next trip.

I can’t believe it’s already March, and while I have tried some great places, I still haven’t gotten to any of the spots on my food resolution list! It’s time to buckle down and start knocking those out before I lose track of time completely.

Leave a Reply

