friday five: car songs

The humble automobile. My car, my wheels, my ride, my baby tank, my private karaoke booth. What’s that? Yes, I am officially outing myself as a car singer. From the first rev of the ignition to shifting to park, it’s a one-woman show that can’t be contained! So, for my first “Friday Five” list, I’d like to share my five favorite overdramatic car songs. These aren’t necessarily songs I love, or even like, but they’re way too much fun to unleash your inner diva to when they come on the radio.

1. Wrecking Ball by Miley Cyrus

Anyone who denies that they wail along with the chorus of this song is either lying or someone I have nothing in common with.

2. Say Something by A Great Big World

This one doesn’t have the same range of vocal histrionics, but is excellently for practicing how you’d fill your voice with emotion if you ever recorded a breakup song.

3. Landslide by Fleetwood Mac

The one that you don’t know all the words to but come in really strong on the chorus.

4. Suspicious Minds by Elvis Presley

A classic! Extra points if you do your best Elvis impersonation while singing it.

5. Numb by Linkin Park

The alternative entry on the list. Does anything say “I’m a miserable teenager” more than sing/yelling a Linkin Park song? I think not.

These are five of my favorites to really cut loose on and make other drivers think I’m crazy. To keep it to just five (I am a serious car performer), I narrowed this list to just songs that I hear semi-regularly on the radio. Once you add in musicals, you have a whole other ball game! Please tell me I’m not the only one who puts on a virtuoso performance on the morning commute.

Leave a Reply

