dining out: wolf peach (brunch edition)

We aren’t even through the first month of the year, and I’ve already returned to Wolf Peach. To be fair, this time it was for brunch, which is totally different.

2014-01-26 11.01.38

We started off with the orange cinnamon roll, which was gooey and sweet, but still very fresh from the citrus. Perfect size to share around the table!

The brunch menu consists of more traditional entrees fit for one person; I actually missed the small plates style of dinner a little bit! But the food, as in the evening, is delicious. Once again, the whole crew ordered different dishes; I heard rave reviews for the mascarpone-stuffed french toast, the chilaquiles (with soyrizo – again, the substitutions and potential for meat-free dishes is really appreciated by meatless eaters), the baked polenta, and the squash waffles. I was torn on whether I should go traditional with a classic eggs benedict or be bold and try something I’d never had before. At the urging of my tablemates, I went bold!

2014-01-26 11.18.23

Chicken and waffles! I’d heard plenty about this strange (to a Midwestern’s ears) combo from both food shows and real life aficionados. I love fried chicken. I love waffles. Meant to be? Maybe…this plate was definitely delicious and I easily cleared it. The fried chicken was especially good, with a crisp and flavorful coating. I’m still not 100% sold on chicken and waffles; they were delicious together, but I think for me they might be best as the stars of their own shows instead of a double act. But now I can check them off my mental list of dishes!

Once again, the service was excellent, and our waitress was so accommodating and quick with the checks when two of our group had to make a quick exit to get to work on time – we appreciate it! This time we also got to eat in the upstairs dining room, with a lovely view. I really enjoyed watching pizzas going in and out of the oven, to the point that I might have gotten a little too distracted from the conversation (sorry, all!).

Wolf Peach deftly handles both brunch and dinner – if you have a chance to check it out, definitely go…no matter the time of day!

One thought on “dining out: wolf peach (brunch edition)

Leave a Reply

