dining in

dining in

I started this blog with some restaurant reviews, but while I love dining out, it’s definitely a fairly rare occasion for me. Most nights I cook for myself, and I’m obsessed with food blogs. Serious Eats, The Kitchn, Budget Bytes, Pioneer Woman Cooks – all mainstays in my reader. I also take a lot of inspiration from family recipes (particularly my grandma’s) and do some good ol’ fashioned inventing.

Much like in my restaurant post, I’ve gotten into a bit of a rut lately with cooking. I’ve been cooking for myself for about 3 years now, and in the beginning I tried a ton of new recipes. Now that I have some classics, I find myself reading and even bookmarking recipes from my favorite blogs but never actually putting those ingredients on a grocery list. This past week I broke the boring streak and attempted Chipotle-style burritos! (top right photo)

It was pretty darn tasty! I grabbed the wrong kind of meat (boo), but the cilantro-lime rice was good. Overall, it’s a dish I’ll definitely make again. Tonight, beef stew is on the docket – perfect to use up some lonely beers in the fridge from our last shindig, since no one in the apartment really drinks beer.

Recommendations for delicious and easy recipes to try at home are welcome! Or your favorite food blogs!

Leave a Reply

